Alternate row colours

Get help with the installation and running of the Zeus IDE. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here. When in doubt post your question here.
Post Reply
Simicro
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:45 pm

Alternate row colours

Post by Simicro »

Hi,

I am considering to buy Zeus for Pascal code editing.

I would like to know if the program can display alternate row colours as shown below (white, light grey, white, light grey...).

And can I customize Zeus to display Pascal statements in green and punctuation in red.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

I am considering to buy Zeus for Pascal code editing.
If you find Zeus not supporting Pascal or have suggestions on how to make it better please post a comment to the forum.
I would like to know if the program can display alternate row colours as shown below
Unfortunately at this time this is not possible :(

But your mock up looks very nice so I will see if this feature can get added to an up coming Zeus release.
And can I customize Zeus to display Pascal statements in green and punctuation in red
Yes this is possible.

The way the Pascal code is displayed in Zeus is controlled by the Pascal document type.

To change the document type you would do the followig:

1) Use the Options, Document Types menu to edit the Pascal document type.

2) Edit the Keywords section.

3) In the Coloring section change the colors to suit.

IMPORTANT: I noticed the default Pascal document type provided by the Zeus installer is not very good :(

So as a better option I would save the following code to a c:\temp\pascal.zki file and then use the Import button found in the Keywords section to fix up the document type.

You can also edit this file before import if you find any missing keywords.

Code: Select all

;
; Zeus Keyword Information File
; =========================================
;
; NOTE: To correctly import this file make sure it has a .zki file
;       extension.
;

[Syntax]
CommentStart01=(*
CommentEnd01=*)
NestsComments01=No
LineComment01=//
CommentStart02={
CommentEnd02=}
NestsComments02=No
LineComment02=
Delimiters=,()[]-+*%/=~!&|<>?:;()
DelimitKeywords=No
IgnoreCase=Yes
Literal=
ManageComments=No
Numbers=(0x*[0-9A-Fa-f]+[Hh]*)|([0-9]+(L*))
Preprocessor=
Strings='
TripleQuotes=No

[ReservedWords]
and
array
as
asm
begin
case
class
const
constructor
destructor
dispinterface
div
do
downto
else
end
except
exports
file
finalization
finally
for
function
goto
if
implementation
in
inherited
initialization
inline
interface
is
label
library
mod
nil
not
object
of
or
out
packed
procedure
program
property
raise
record
repeat
resourcestring
set
shl
shr
string
then
threadvar
to
try
type
unit
until
uses
var
while
with
xor

[ExReservedWords]
Pattern=
IsNested=No

[UserWords1]
absolute
abstract
assembler
automated
cdecl
contains
default
dispid
dynamic
export
external
far
forward
implements
index
message
name
near
nodefault
overload
override
package
pascal
private
protected
public
published
read
readonly
register
reintroduce
requires
resident
safecall
stdcall
stored
virtual
write
writeonly

[ExUserWords1]
Pattern=
IsNested=No
I will fix up the installer at this end as well.

Cheers Jussi
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

I did some more playing with Zeus and Pascal and I noticed there are a few things missing from the default Zeus Pascal configuration :(

After importing the keywords from above there are two more changes that can be made:

1) Download a new xFolder.dll file from this location and copy it into the Zeus install folder. This change will enable Pascal code folding.

2) In the Templates section of the Document Type set the Brace Prefix String to begin and the Brace Postfix String to end. This change will enable smart indenting.

Cheers Jussi
Simicro
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:45 pm

Post by Simicro »

Hi jussij,

Thanks for your answer and all your explanations and tips.

I currently own UltraEdit, NoteTab Pro, and Boxer for various usages but none of these editors have the alternate row colours feature.

So if one day that feature is implemented in Zeus, I will buy your software. I'l come back from time to time to check what's new.

Thanks.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

The current beta version has the ability to have alternate row colours: http://www.zeusedit.com/z300/zeus-beta.zip

Cheers Jussi
wraith808
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:47 pm

Post by wraith808 »

jussij wrote:The current beta version has the ability to have alternate row colours: http://www.zeusedit.com/z300/zeus-beta.zip

Cheers Jussi
Is this in the current release version? And is it documented anywhere?
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

Is this in the current release version?

No. All the beta releases share the same zeus-beta.zip file name, which means the link generally points to a file that is close to the current version, but it will never be the current version.

But that beta file could also be newer than the current version.
And is it documented anywhere?
All the Zeus releases are announed here: http://www.zeusedit.com/zforum/viewforum.php?f=6

From the dates on the annoncements page and the post that announces the beta you can determine if the beta is older or never than the current version.

So in this case you will notice there is a very new Zeus 3.97q release meaning currently all the beta links are older thean the latest release.

Cheers Jussi
wraith808
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:47 pm

Post by wraith808 »

I mean, is the ability to alternate line colors in the current released version? Was this feature ever integrated into the mainline releases?

I searched the announcement section and didn't see it in any of the release notes. It's one of the major things I miss from my visual studio (silly I know), but I have an extension that does just this.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

I mean, is the ability to alternate line colors in the current released version?
Yes it is. Use the Options, Document Types menu to edit the document type and in the Coloring section set the color for the Plain Text (Alt) category (at the bottom).

Cheers Jussi
wraith808
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:47 pm

Post by wraith808 »

Wow... that's great! Thanks!
Post Reply