how to save a macro against a keystroke

Get help with the installation and running of the Zeus IDE. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here. When in doubt post your question here.
Post Reply
alanm
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:58 pm
Location: Shropshire U.K.

how to save a macro against a keystroke

Post by alanm »

Hi,
I can create a macro by use of the F7 key and then use F8 to run it. However, I need to be able to run 2 macros after each other so I would like to save a macro against keystrokes, then use the first keystroke for the first macro and the second keystroke for the second macro. Is this possible and if so how.

regards

Alan
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

I need to be able to run 2 macros after each other

Why not use the the Zeus execute macro function:

Code: Select all

int result = execute("test.lua");
This function lets you call a Zeus macro within a Zeus macro ;)
I would like to save a macro against keystrokes
You can bind a macro to a keystroke using the Options, Editor Options menu, edit the keyboard mapping and select the Macro Scripts category.

Cheers Jussi
alanm
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:58 pm
Location: Shropshire U.K.

Post by alanm »

Are you able to tell me how to go about creating this sort of function. I am not a programmer and only use Zeus as a simple text editor with macro by F7 and F8.

regards

Alan
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

Hi Alan,

I'm not 100% sure what you are trying to achieve, but during some testing I did find that the execute macro function and found it is broken in the current Zeus release :(

It will hopefully be working again in the next release ;)

Cheers Jussi
alanm
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:58 pm
Location: Shropshire U.K.

Post by alanm »

Hi,
I guess that it will not be available in my version then, 3.95z.

What I am tryinh to achieve it the following.

I have a large (600mb) file which is a report generated by Oracle. this file can be nicely spilt into individual reports.

The macro selects a chuck of text opens a new file copies the chunk to that file, then I want either the same or another macro the delete the chuck from the first file.

hope that makes sense.

regards

Alan
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

If you have two macros scripts written then it is very easy to bind these macros to the key board.

If you used the F7 to record these macros, just use the Macros, Save As menu option to give the macros a permanent file name, making sure you save them to the zScript folder.

Then edit the current keyboard mapping using the Options, Editor Options menu. In the keyboard edit dialog you will see a Category drop down list. Just select the macros option from the list and you should see your macro in the list of macros.

So select the macro and bind it to a key ;)

Cheers Jussi
alanm
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:58 pm
Location: Shropshire U.K.

Post by alanm »

Hi,
Thanks for the help. In the version I have i can't see a category option.

regards

Alan
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

Thanks for the help. In the version I have i can't see a category option.

It is definitely there. Here are the steps you need take to find it:
  1. Options Editor Options menu
  2. Keyboard mapping panel
  3. Edit button to edit active keyboard
  4. In the Mapping section frind the Category dropdown list
Cheers Jussi
alanm
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:58 pm
Location: Shropshire U.K.

Post by alanm »

Found it, thanks for the advice.

Alan
anneguo
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:12 am

HELLO!

Post by anneguo »

HELLO!
thanks,it's very clear.I like this.
thanks :D
Post Reply