I'm having a problem setting up Zeus with Java

Get help with the installation and running of the Zeus IDE. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here. When in doubt post your question here.
Post Reply
357mag
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:48 pm

I'm having a problem setting up Zeus with Java

Post by 357mag »

I'm following the instructions that are on this site entitled Setting up the Java JDK Compiler. I can compile my code successfully, but now I'm at the part of the instructions where they tell you how to configure a Zeus tool to execute the resulting Java Class file.

The instructions say go into Options, Document Types and select Java Document Type. I did that.

The instructions then tell you to select the Tools section and define the following tool. They specifically tell you what to type in for the Text, Command Line, Arguments, and Work Directory text boxes.

This is where it's going wrong...

When I look I see Menu Text, Program Name, Arguments, and Work Directory.

Am I in the correct spot?

Is there a difference between Text and Menu Text?

I typed the stuff that the instructions said to type in those text boxes but it's not working.

Unless I typed -cp -$fb instead of...

-cp _$fb.

That is what I typed in the Arguments box.
357mag
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:48 pm

Re: I'm having a problem setting up Zeus with Java

Post by 357mag »

I think I fixed it. After you type in that stuff in those 4 text boxes, you have to hit the Add button.

Otherwise it won't work.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: I'm having a problem setting up Zeus with Java

Post by jussij »

Otherwise it won't work.
That's sounds like a Zeus bug :(

I'll look to have that fixed in the next version.

Cheers Jussi
357mag
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:48 pm

Re: I'm having a problem setting up Zeus with Java

Post by 357mag »

Well I restored my computer from a backup image file as I often do, and now that I have decided to use Zeus I am installing the JDK and Zeus again. But this time when I try to execute my code file all I get is cannot load or find Main class file.

I have been trying to figure out what I did this second time around that is making Zeus not create the class file (I can clearly see when I look in my folder which is on my external drive, that even though the source code file is there, there is no class file. That is what I think the problem is. The class file is simply not being created in my folder.

The only thing I can recall that I did differently this second time around is that when I first saved the Application.java file I did not let Zeus put it in the default directory, which I think is some kind of temp folder.

I changed that right away and told Zeus to save the Application.java file in my Java Programming Projects folder which resides on my external solid state drive.

Is that what I did wrong?

Seems to me I should be able to save my source files where ever I want. I don't save anything on my internal C drive. I always save my stuff to my external solid state drive.

What should I do?
357mag
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:48 pm

Re: I'm having a problem setting up Zeus with Java

Post by 357mag »

I just tried compiling and running my program in a command prompt. It compiled and ran as expected...Hello World.

But it will not run inside Zeus. I must have set something wrong somewhere.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: I'm having a problem setting up Zeus with Java

Post by jussij »

But it will not run inside Zeus. I must have set something wrong somewhere.
It sounds like something in the two environments is different :?
Seems to me I should be able to save my source files where ever I want.
I don't think this is the issue.

When you say you are running this inside Zeus are you defining a tool to do this running :?:

If that is the case make sure you have specified the directory correctly.

The tool will be run in the directory that you specify and if that is not specified correctly I can imagine you could get these types of errors.

On this point, Zeus has many $Tag values that can be used to help define these settings.

For example $fdd will translate into the file drive and directory of the currently active files.

If you run the ztags.lua it will give you examples of these tags.
What should I do?
When I run into these types of configuration issues this is what I do.

1. Options, Editor Options menu and in the General section turn on the Debug tools, macros and executables option.

2. Run the command that is not working.

3. Use the Macros, Macro Debug/Output menu and there you will see details of the command being run.

4. Then use the Tools, DOS Shell menu and in that shell run those same commands from the debug window.

If that does not fix the issue just post that debug output to this thread.

Also post the actual output and error details reported by that DOS Shell.

Cheers Jussi
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: I'm having a problem setting up Zeus with Java

Post by jussij »

At the end of this link there are details on how to setup a Zeus tool to run a Java file.

That link also gives an example of using a Zeus $tag value to define the tool parameters.

Cheers Jussi
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: I'm having a problem setting up Zeus with Java

Post by jussij »

Unless I typed -cp -$fb instead of... -cp _$fb
The value to enter is as follows:

Code: Select all

-cp $fb
What this option is doing is setting the class path using the -cp command line option.

The -cp is just shorthand for -classpath command line option.

The $fb tag value is replaced by the file base name of the currently active file.

For more details consider the example from this page: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/7/docs/te ... spath.html

It describes this example:

For example, suppose you want the Java runtime to find a class named Cool.class in the package utility.myapp. If the path to that directory is C:\java\MyClasses\utility\myapp, you would set the class path so that it contains C:\java\MyClasses.

To run that app, you could use the following JVM command:

Code: Select all

C:> java -classpath C:\java\MyClasses utility.myapp.Cool
Cheers Jussi
357mag
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:48 pm

Re: I'm having a problem setting up Zeus with Java

Post by 357mag »

Thank You for the help. Just to give you a quick update, I have decided to use JCreator for my Java Programming. I've used JCreator before many years ago and it is an excellent IDE for Java. It's extremely simple to install and setup, and the interface is extremely easy and uncluttered. The only bad thing about it is the support forum is really weak. There is very little responses to questions which is unfortunate, but the software itself is great.

I will keep Zeus for perhaps C++ or C# Programming.

Keep up the good work.
Post Reply