copying

If reporting a bug with the Zeus IDE please post the details here. Please do not post questions here.
Post Reply
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

copying

Post by omer kircher » Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:09 am

Hi Jussi:

I am using 3.96s.

When I click on "Edit" on the menu line and then click on "Copy", I get the current line copied to the clipboard. This is as it should be.

Likewise when I press the plus key. This is as it should be.

When I press Alt and then E, the edit menu drops down with key? letters underlined. But, if I then press "C", the current line is not copied to the clipboard and the dropdown menu does not close.

Under "Editor Options" / "Keyboard Mapping", i have "Briefex" selected (by the way, all of the "Defined Keymaps" are repeated).

Omer

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2449
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:31 am

Hi Omer,
When I press Alt and then E, the edit menu drops down with key? letters underlined. But, if I then press "C", the current line is not copied to the clipboard and the dropdown menu does not close.

What you are seeing is standard Windows behaviour.

Becuase the Edit menu has two menu items that use the 'c' accelerator key you need to hit the enter key to activate the menu.

For example if you press the 'c' key a second time Windows will take you to the next menu item that uses the key. Repeating the 'c' key press will move the menu item once again.

I try to keep the accelerators keys unique but as the menu get longer this gets harder to do :(
i have "Briefex" selected
That's just like me. There is no better way to code ;)

Cheers Jussi

omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

accelerator keys on the "edit" drop down list

Post by omer kircher » Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:15 am

Hi Jussi:

Now I see what is happening when I press alt, e, c. I didn't notice the 2 "c"s before. Thanks again!

I guess "Incremental search" wasn't there in earlier versions.

I don't suppose there is any way that I can change your choice of accelerator? keys???

This is a pain to me because I have made it a habit to press alt, e, c in order to copy. This combination also works in the Visual Studio editor.

Here is a suggestion:

On "Find in Files...", use "d" instead of "i". "i" seems odd anyway. That would free up "i" for "incremental search". That would be better than "c" it seems to me. That would leave "c" for "copy".

By the way, for whatever reason, "help"/"help contents" opens up with the window spread on both screens in a dual monitor system. At least it does on mine.

Also, the internal links in the help don't seem to be working.

More:

Here is a macro that I find very useful at times for lining up text. Could be you already have a similar macro in your library, I don't know. If not, perhaps you would like to add this one.

-- align

-- this function facilitates lining up columns of text
-- to use, position the cursor and press F8
-- blank spaces between the cursor and the next word will be deleted
-- the cursor is then moved to the next line ready for another operation

function key_macro()
screen_update_disable()
if get_char_at() == 32 then
MarkColumnToggle()
MoveWordNext()
MarkDeleteEx()
end
MoveLineDown()
screen_update_enable()
screen_update()
end

key_macro() -- run the macro

Omer

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2449
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:26 am

I don't suppose there is any way that I can change your choice of accelerator? keys???

I'll make the change to the accelerators as you suggest ;)
By the way, for whatever reason, "help"/"help contents" opens up with the window spread on both screens in a dual monitor system. At least it does on mine.

Thanks for the feedback. For the time being I would just take the help file from the 3.96r release.

Cheers Jussi

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2449
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Fri Jan 30, 2009 5:34 am

Here is a macro that I find very useful at times for lining up text.
That is a very nice little macro you've created ;)

I have create a link to your macro here: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=4426

I will also add it to the Zeus installer.
Could be you already have a similar macro in your library, I don't know. If not, perhaps you would like to add this one.

I do this sort of thing all the time in Zeus but I have always done it using an anonymous macros (i.e. I'll line up the first line with recording on and then I let the macro do the other lines in playback mode).

But it never occurred to me to write a simple permanent macro to do this.

Doing it your way is brilliant as it gets rid the initial recording step altogether which is great saver of key strokes :)

Cheers Jussi

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2449
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:33 pm

The accelerators keys have been re-mapped in the latest version found here: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=6

Cheers Jussi

Post Reply
kuchnie warszawa opinie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest