installing new versions of zeus

Post any comments, suggestions, annoyances or ideas for future releases here. Please do not post bug reports or questions here.
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

installing new versions of zeus

Post by omer kircher »

Hi Jussi:

I use Zeus constantly.

However, I always find that installing a new version is difficult.

First, there is the problem of knowing whether or not a new version is available. After looking closely for the purposes of this memo, I found (on zeusedit.com) the note "Zeus 3.97 out now! It would help if this was more prominent, like (at the head of the main text box) "LATEST VERSION: 3.97".

Second, I have just downloaded ze32v397.zip and installed it. I have written up for myself a procedure for doing this which involves changing directory names in "Program Files", unzipping, executing setup.exe, changing names of directories like zconfig, moving files like zconfig etc. It would be very helpful if you provided detailed "How to install a New Version of the Zeus Editor" instructions. You may have this somewhere, but, if so, I have not found it.

MOST IMPORTANT ITEM:

Third, there does not seem to be a directory named zconfig in ze32v397. So what is going on here? I moved the previous zconfig directory into the new installation directory but that did not seem to have any effect. I am completely confused by this, so I have gone back to ze396s.

Fourth, in ze32v396 there is minor bug? When searching, a bell rings on the second instance and ONLY on the second instance found. Strange!

Omer
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2464
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

However, I always find that installing a new version is difficult.

Why is it difficult :?: I have to install a new beta version on a weekly basis and the process takes less than a minute and I have never had any troubles.
First, there is the problem of knowing whether or not a new version is available.

This is the announcement link that you should be checking periodically: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=6
Second, I have just downloaded ze32v397.zip and installed it.

You should be using the announcement link and not the direct link.
"How to install a New Version of the Zeus Editor" instructions.

See this announcement link for instructions: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2647
Fourth, in ze32v396 there is minor bug? When searching, a bell rings on the second instance and ONLY on the second instance found. Strange!

All bugs need to be reported as a bug report with instructions on how to replicate the issue. Without a full bug report it is more than likely the bug will not get fixed.

But I think this bug has in fact been found and will be fixed in the next release ;)

Cheers Jussi
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

Post by omer kircher »

Jussi:

Thanks for your reply.

Keep in mind that most of us don't install a new version every week and consequently are not so familiar with the process.

"This is the announcement link that you should be checking periodically: "
That is good to know. But I will probably forget about it by the next time I am checking to see if there is a new version. I don't see any link to the announcement page on the zeusedit.com home page. A link there would be good.

The announcement page refers to 3.97 as a "patch". But the file turns out to be 11079 KB which makes it appear to be a full blown version (not to mention the change from 396 to 397). I know that there were 3.96c, 3.96r, and 3.96s (and maybe others). They were smaller, so calling them "patches" made some sense to me. This sort of thing can be confusing to those of us who are not immersed in this every day.

My main question involved the zconfig directory. As I recall, you used to say: copy the old zconfig directory from the "backup copy" to the new installation. But I don't see anything like that in your "INSTALLATION NOTES". Installing 3.97 does not seem to produce a zconfig directory and copying the old zconfig directory to the new installation directory did not seem to be effective. So, I don't understand what I need to do here.

Perhaps I don't appreciate the significance of your use of the word "patch" and 3.97 really is a "patch" and not a new version and MUST
be installed OVER the previous version. Is that it?

I can muddle through the rest of it, but I could really use an answer about the zconfig thing.

Omer
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2464
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

My main question involved the zconfig directory. As I recall, you used to say: copy the old zconfig directory from the "backup copy" to the new installation. But I don't see anything like that in your "INSTALLATION NOTES"

And that is becuase you don't need to do this.

There are two ways to upgrade.

The hard way: Re-run the installer, but using this approach will require you to copy back the zConfig, zScript, zHelp etc folders from your original install

The easy way: Apply the patch following the instructions outlined in the patch.

Cheers Jussi
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

Post by omer kircher »

Jussi:

Thanks again for your patience!

I am trying to install 3.97 and I am following your instructions to the best of my ability. Here is what I experienced.

You say: "The easy way: Apply the patch following the instructions outlined in the patch."

As far as I can see there are no instructions "in the patch". Here are the files "in the patch", that is to say, in the file named ze32v397.zip.

FILE_ID.DIZ
setup.exe
setup-1.bin
setup-2.bin
setup-3.bin
setup-4.bin
setup-5.bin
setup-6.bin
setup-7.bin
setup-8.bin

I don't see anything that looks like it would be "instructions".

The file named FILE_ID.DIZ has a modified date of 1/22/2001 and contains the following:

Zeus Programmers Editor For those looking for
a Brief, Wordstar, Epsilon editor for WIN32,
your search is over. Features include, MDI
support, status and toolbar, syntax color
highlighting, in edit compile, automatic
backup, file restore on startup, error
listing, undo/redo, search, replace,
bookmarks, column, block and stream marking,
quick help and much more. Shareware written
by: http://www.zeusedit.com

That seems completely useless to me. Why is this file included?

Since I was unable to find any instructions "in the patch", I decided to try the instructions shown in

http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2647

here they are:

INSTALLATION NOTES:

To install the patch do the following:

Make a full backup copy of the current Zeus installation directory
Unzip the patch file to write over the current set of exe and dlls files
Start Zeus and re-enter your registration details
Display the About dialog using the Help, About menu
Ensure the version listed is 3.97
Ensure the registration details displayed are still correct

I did the first item.

The second item
"Unzip the patch file to write over the current set of exe and dlls files"
Unzipping file ze32v397.zip creates the files listed above not exe and dll files. The only thing that seems reasonable to me is to 1) unzip file ze32v397.zip into some directory and then, 2) execute setup.exe from that directory, 3) designate the previous "Program file" (mine is named "C:/Program Files/Zeus") as the destination directory. So I did that.

The third item
"Start Zeus and re-enter your registration details"
This brings up the question: what are the "registration details"? Fortunately, I try to keep track of this kind of information. So I tried to examine the file where I keep this information. Unfortunately, by now the new "patch" gets in the way. As I said before, I use Zeus all of the time! So, I figure out where it is that I stored the registration information and use Wordpad to get the "registration code". I presume that is what is meant by "registration details". Next, how do I re-enter the "registration code"? I didn't have any trouble with that, correctly guessing that I should 1) initiate Zeus, 2) click on "Help", 3) click on "About", 4) click on "Enter the Registration Code", and 5) copy the registration code into the box. So I did that and entered the registration code that I found. This seemed to go ok.

Fourth and fifth items:
"Display the About dialog using the Help, About menu
Ensure the version listed is 3.97"
Sure enough, it says Version 3.97!

Sixth item:
"Ensure the registration details displayed are still correct"
I would have done that except that I am not sure what "registration details" means and I don't know where they are displayed.

Finally, when I re-initiate Zeus, what do I get?

I get some very different configuration from that which I had established in version 3.96! And "History of Change for the Zeus for Windows Programmer's Editor" is displayed. Why is that? I suppose that in all of my mucking around I looked at this and it is in a MRU list. I don't know.

All of this is what I meant when I said earlier: "I always find that installing a new version is difficult."

By the way, I love Zeus (version 3.96 anyway) and use it all the time (did I mention that?)

Please help! How do I restore the configuration that I had established in 3.96. I feel certain that you would agree that this should be easy to do.

Omer
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2464
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

I am trying to install 3.97 and I am following your instructions to the best of my ability. Here is what I experienced.

Lets assume your current fully operational Zeus 3.96 installation is located in the c:\program files\zeus folder.

The installation notes below are taken from the latest patch link: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2647
INSTALLATION NOTES:

To install the patch do the following:

Make a full backup copy of the current Zeus c:\program files\zeus installation directory

You can do this using the copy command in Windows Explorer and just making a full copy of this installation folder to some other folder location.
Unzip the patch file to write over the current set of exe and dlls files

Open the patch file and unzip it's contents overwritting the files in the c:\program files\zeus version 3.96 installation folder.
Start Zeus and re-enter your registration details

This step may or may not be needed, but if it is just take the registration activation key and use the Help, Enter Registration Code menu to re-enter the key.
Display the About dialog using the Help, About menu

Ensure the version listed is 3.97

Ensure the registration details displayed are still correct

Go to the About dialog and make sure the version is 3.97 which shows the upgrade is now complete.

You have now upgraded the software to the latest version while maintaining all the older settings ;)
As far as I can see there are no instructions "in the patch". Here are the files "in the patch", that is to say, in the file named ze32v397.zip.

The ze32v397.zip is not the patch file. It is a full installer.

The link to the patch file is found on the announcement page and points to this file: http://www.zeusedit.com/z300/ze397.zip

Cheers Jussi
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

Post by omer kircher »

Jussi:

I got file ze397.zip (instead of ze32v397.zip) and did what you said.

I get version 3.97 but I still do not have the configuration that I have in 3.96!

I also tried copying zconfig from 3.96 to 3.97. No effect!

The only thing I can think of is that, for whatever reason, on my system, 3.97 ignores the content of the zconfig directory and uses all defaults.

Omer
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

Post by omer kircher »

Jussi:

I later thought to try this:

On 3.96,
1) change the name of the config directory
2) execute 3.96

The result is that i get more or less the same display that I do on 3.97.

I think this confirms my suggestion that 3.97 is ignoring the content of the zconfig directory.

Omer
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2464
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

I think this confirms my suggestion that 3.97 is ignoring the content of the zconfig directory.

When you start the Zeus.exe file it always looks for a zConfig sub-folder in the same location as the Zeus.exe file.

The only way you can change this behaviour is to define an alternative zConfig folder location using the ini file. You can test that this is not the case by just deleting or renaming the zeus.ini file

As a test if you rename the 3.97 zConfig sub-folder and then start Zeus you will see that Zeus will recreate a new zConfig sub-folder in the same folder as the executable.

Which operating system are you running :?:

Are you sure you are copying over the correct 3.96 zConfig sub-folder :?:

If you start your backup copy of the Zeus 3.96 installation does this version still look and work as as expected :?:

My guess would be you have overwritten your older 3.96 zConfig folder by running the full 3.97 installer into the same folder as your original 3.96 installation :?

Cheers Jussi
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

Post by omer kircher »

Jussi:

I don't know how your quote box technique works so I am going to intersperse responses in caps, if you don't mind.

When you start the Zeus.exe file it always looks for a zConfig sub-folder in the same location as the Zeus.exe file.

THAT IS WHAT I THOUGHT.

The only way you can change this behaviour is to define an alternative zConfig folder location using the ini file. You can test that this is not the case by just deleting or renaming the zeus.ini file

IN THE ZEUS.INI FILE IN THE 3.97 DIRECTORY, I DON'T SEE ANYTHING THAT WOULD SEEM TO BE DEFINING AN ALTERNATIVE ZCONFIG FOLDER. NEVERTHELESS, I RENAMED THE ZEUS.INI FILE AND EXECUTED ZEUS.EXE. THE RESULT WAS THE SAME AS BEFORE. I THINK THAT IT CORRECT TO SAY THAT ZEUS IS COMING UP WITH THE DEFAULT CONFIGURATION SO I WILL REFER TO IT AS THE DEFAULT CONFIGURATION HENCEFORTH.

As a test if you rename the 3.97 zConfig sub-folder and then start Zeus you will see that Zeus will recreate a new zConfig sub-folder in the same folder as the executable.

STRANGELY ENOUGH, I THOUGHT I HAD EARLIER OBSERVED THAT A NEW ZCONFIG DIRECTORY WAS CREATED AS YOU SAY. BUT NOW THAT IS NOT THE CASE. IF I RENAME THE ZCONFIG FILE IN THE 3.97 DIRECTORY AND EXECUTE ZEUS.EXE, A ZCONFIG DIRECTORY IS NOT CREATED. EVEN IF I CHANGE SOME OPTIONS. I HAVE TRIED THIS SEVERAL TIMES TO BE SURE.

Which operating system are you running

I AM RUNNING MICROSOFT WINDOWS VISTA HOME PREMIUM VERSION 6.0.6002 SERVICE PACK 2 BUILD 6002 ON A DELL XPS 630I

Are you sure you are copying over the correct 3.96 zConfig sub-folder

YES. THE SET OF FILES IN THE TWO DIRECTORIES IS THE SAME AND ALL OF THE MOD DATES ARE THE SAME.

If you start your backup copy of the Zeus 3.96 installation does this version still look and work as as expected

YES.

My guess would be you have overwritten your older 3.96 zConfig folder by running the full 3.97 installer into the same folder as your original 3.96 installation.

OF COURSE, I CERTAINLY COULD HAVE DONE SOMETHING LIKE THAT.
THE ONLY THING IS (AS YOU ASKED IN THE PRECEDING QUESTION) THE 3.96 VERSION IS WORKING AS ALWAYS SO THAT IS WHAT I AM USING. :D

I HAVE JUST NOTICED THE ZEUSERR.LOG FILE. IN IT I HAVE 1245 REPETITIONS OF THE FOLLOWING:

[Tue Aug 11 21:58:00 2009] ASSERT ".\cNLS.cpp" (81) >>
[Tue Aug 11 21:58:00 2009] TRACE ".\cNLS.cpp" (96) >> Unexpected error loading '2240' NLS string

THESE ERRORS MESSAGES ARE CREATED WHEN RUNNING THE 3.96 VERSION, BUT IT DOES NOT SEEM TO BE CAUSING A PROBLEM. THE 3.97 VERSION IS NOT WRITING ANY ERROR MESSAGES TO THIS FILE.

Omer


When you start the Zeus.exe file it always looks for a zConfig sub-folder in the same location as the Zeus.exe file.

The only way you can change this behaviour is to define an alternative zConfig folder location using the ini file. You can test that this is not the case by just deleting or renaming the zeus.ini file

As a test if you rename the 3.97 zConfig sub-folder and then start Zeus you will see that Zeus will recreate a new zConfig sub-folder in the same folder as the executable.

Which operating system are you running

Are you sure you are copying over the correct 3.96 zConfig sub-folder

If you start your backup copy of the Zeus 3.96 installation does this version still look and work as as expected

My guess would be you have overwritten your older 3.96 zConfig folder by running the full 3.97 installer into the same folder as your original 3.96 installation
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2464
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

I AM RUNNING MICROSOFT WINDOWS VISTA HOME PREMIUM VERSION 6.0.6002 SERVICE PACK 2 BUILD 6002 ON A DELL XPS 630I

That explains the problem ;)

This version of Zeus is the first to be fully Vista aware and as such it conforms to the Microsoft UAC guidelines.

What that means is the installer will have put the configuration files into this folder location: C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\

And on the first run Zeus will have copied these configuration details to this folder location: C:\Users\JussiJ\AppData\Roaming\Xidicone\Zeus

So what you need to do is this:
  1. Copy your old Zeus 3.96 configuration details into this location C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\
  2. Delete all the folders in this location C:\Users\JussiJ\AppData\Roaming\Xidicone\Zeus
  3. Start Zeus and you should see the location C:\Users\JussiJ\AppData\Roaming\Xidicone\Zeus is recreated
NOTE: In the folder locations above the JussiJ refers to my user ID so you will need to replace it with yours ;)
[Tue Aug 11 21:58:00 2009] ASSERT ".\cNLS.cpp" (81) >>
[Tue Aug 11 21:58:00 2009] TRACE ".\cNLS.cpp" (96) >> Unexpected error loading '2240' NLS string

There must be a bug in the ZeusNLS.dll file :(

Cheers Jussi
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

Post by omer kircher »

Jussi:

Thanks one more time!

I did what you said and everything seems to be working ok now.

I would not have figured this out in my lifetime.

The ding on the second instance of a search is gone.

Also the error message about 2240 NLS is gone.

Is all of this business about "Vista awareness" explained somewhere on your web site? If it is, I'm sorry but i missed it!

Omer
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

Post by omer kircher »

Jussi:

As you may recall I am installing 3.97 under Vista.

I seem to have zconfig under control, but now comes zscript.

If I click on Macros/Load..., I get the "Load Macro" dialog box. If I then drop the list, I see:

C:\Users\Omer Kircher\AppData\Roaming\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript
C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript
C:\Program Files\Zeus
C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript-installed
C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\zConfig-installed

The latter two (unless I got confused) are the files created during installation and which i renamed before transferring in zConfig and zScript from the 3.96 installation to C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\ which is what I did with zConfig that seemed to work.

Now that you have educated me about "Vista awareness", I expected that the file that Zeus would use as the script file would be the second item (C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript) period.

I can't delete the other items from the list and if I select C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript, exit, and reexecute, the file that Zeus seems to be using as the script file is
C:\Users\Omer Kircher\AppData\Roaming\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript :shock:

Is that right???

Should I move my 3.96 zScript file to
C:\Users\Omer Kircher\AppData\Roaming\Xidicone\Zeus\ :roll:
or is there a better way to point Zeus to C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript

Omer
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2464
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

Now that you have educated me about "Vista awareness", I expected that the file that Zeus would use as the script file would be the second item (C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript) period.
I would hope it did not as this would indicate a bug :(

You can check the location of the zscript folder by running this command using the Tools, DOS Command Line menu: dir $ZeusScript

Here is some more information as to why this is the case.

As we know by default Vista locks the program files folder.

Also to run the setup.exe Vista requires a super user logon.

So what this means is the Zeus config files can no longer be stored in the program files folder.

It also means the setup will never now the actual user name and hence can never complete the full install.

So what the setup does is install the the read only Zeus files to the program files folder and the configuration details to the common shared folder.

Then when Zeus is run by the user it checks to see if the user configuration folders exist and if they don't it completes the installation by copying over the details from the common shared folder.

The common shared folder is found here: C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\

The user configuration folder is: C:\Users\Omer Kircher\AppData\Roaming\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript

So the common shared folder is only ever used to setup a new user.
I can't delete the other items from the list

You can delete these folders:

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\Zeus\zScript, zConfig, zHelp, zTags etc
C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript-installed 
C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\zConfig-installed
Should I move my 3.96 zScript file to
C:\Users\Omer Kircher\AppData\Roaming\Xidicone\Zeus\
or is there a better way to point Zeus to C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\zScript

Yes. In fact I would copy it to both these locations ;)

Cheers Jussi
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

Post by omer kircher »

Jussi:

OK. I copied the 3.96 zScript file to C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Xidicone\Zeus\

The scripts seem to working now :o

I also deleted ALL of the z... directories in the 3.97 directory. :?:

So here is what I now understand that one needs to do to install the 3.97 patch over 3.96.

1) create a new directory in C:\Program Files\ (I call it Zeus)
2) copy all of the 3.96 directory into it.
3) unzip ze397.zip into the new directory
4) copy the 3.96 zConfig directory into C:\ProgramData\Xidicone\Zeus\
5) copy the 3.96 zScript directory into C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Xidicone\Zeus\
6) delete all of the z... directories from C:\Program Files\Zeus

Are you kidding :?:

No, I don't suppose so :lol:

You said "You can check the location of the zscript folder by running this command using the Tools, DOS Command Line menu: dir $ZeusScript"

I tried this. What i get is: "The system cannot find the path specified"

Omer
Post Reply