Upgrading to 3.96n from 3.95z

Get help with the installation and running of the Zeus IDE. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here. When in doubt post your question here.
AlanStewart
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Upgrading to 3.96n from 3.95z

Post by AlanStewart » Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:48 pm

I'm probably nuts but it's really time I got on the bandwagon and upgraded because it sounds like the New And Improved Zeus has a lot more of the features I'm looking for. My only issue is that I've spent so long with 3.94 and 3.95 that I've gone a little customization crazy. I've also got my work configuration totally out of sync with my home configuration so I think it's time to grab 3.96n and start clean and fresh and with my registry also cleaned out, and then see if I can (slowly) make my new Zeus work like my new one. Thankfully I can run out of three separate directories (have I recently mentioned how awsome Zeus is that it can do this?) and compare 'em all together. And I only just found out about the Export/Import for key mappings so I'll *DEFINATELY* be using that feature!

So anyways, this is just fair warning that you are about to be inundated with dozens of "how do I dod this?" kinda questions. :)

Alan Stewart

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2449
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:20 pm

Hi Alan,

Good to hear you are about to upgrade :)

For details on how to maintain your current configuration read this link:

http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=207
So anyways, this is just fair warning that you are about to be inundated with dozens of "how do I do this?" kinda questions. :)

I look forward to it :)

Cheers Jussi

AlanStewart
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Upgrade

Post by AlanStewart » Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:33 pm

Yup. I just need to get my order information (I sure hope I've got it at home!) so that I can prove I'm eligible for the $25 upgrade. Failing that I know RegNet has it *somewhere*. The only thing is that I can't remember what email I registered it under. Oops! :)

That's basically what I'm doing for the configuration upgrade except that I'm trying to merge my work and home configurations (3.95z) with the new 3.96n configuration. Ouch. At least doing the scripts was dead easy.

Is it safe to copy my old 3.95z white.col onto 3.96n's Zeus*-coloring.ext?

And so far the only odd thing I've found is common to both old and new so I suspect it's an MS thing:

"Weird. When I'm flipping back and forth between two copies of Zeus with the Editor Options dialog box up, if I'm on the Keyboard Mapping or Fonts tabs, they don't stick. Flipping always reverts back to the previously selected tab."

Hardly a big worry in the grand scheme of things.

AlanStewart
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Keymap

Post by AlanStewart » Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:05 pm

Okay, here's the first one ...

How do I actually do a keymap import? Both [New] and [Import] seem to be disabled for some reason. Is there another checkbox I need somewhere? Even putting the .ZXP files into the zConfig directory doesn't seem to be making any difference. Hmmm.

Aha! I'm not so stupid after all! I have to create a brand new one (give it a name first) and *then* I can Import into it. I was just thinking of importing into the BriefEx one but I think if I create my own to use then I can always check the original BriefEx one when I need to know what keys are originally set to. This is good!

Hmm, when I go to delete it, the messageBox says "Are you sure you want to delete the 'xxx' tool?" I guess that's just a resource string issue.

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2449
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:20 pm

Hi Alan,
Is it safe to copy my old 3.95z white.col onto 3.96n's Zeus*-coloring.ext?
Yes, it should be ok. It is just important to make sure you have a good backup the original 3.95z configuration details, so they don't get lost ;)
Weird. When I'm flipping back and forth between two copies of Zeus with the Editor Options dialog box up, if I'm on the Keyboard Mapping or Fonts tabs, they don't stick. Flipping always reverts back to the previously selected tab.
That is a bit weird. I tried this with two copies of Zeus 3.96 running but for me it works fine :?
Hmm, when I go to delete it, the messageBox says "Are you sure you want to delete the 'xxx' tool?" I guess that's just a resource string issue.
I'll get that bug fixed ;)

Cheers Jussi

AlanStewart
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Update

Post by AlanStewart » Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:30 pm

Good. So far I'm just working on .BAT files but it's looking good. I was able to move my white.col over so now things are *looking* right and that's a major thing for me. I can now finally see what I want to see at a glance.

Is there anywhere that people are keeping lists of keywords? I added a couple more to the .BAT ones but when I get to .CSS files it'll be interesting to see what's all in there.

Hmmm, am I only *NOW* cluing in to the fact that you can select lines with Alt-Lmouse click, and then select more with Shift-Alt-Lmouse click? That's been working since forever, hasn't it?

The flipping issue is probably just my machine. I wouldn't worry about it really.

Oh yeah, for .BAT files, I added "0::" as Line Comment 2 since I'm lazy and just use : as a coment. I know it isn't, but it "works".

I guess I'll look at Java files next.

P.S. I've got Alt-J set up as BookMarkGoto and Shift-Alt-J as BookMarkDisplay. Works like a charm!

I guess th downside of my exporting/importing all my old keyboard mappings is that I don't get to find out about any of the cool new stuff added. Oh well, I'm sure I'll figure it all out eventually.

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2449
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:00 am

Hi Alan,
Is there anywhere that people are keeping lists of keywords?

Unfortunately the design of the Zeus configuration model is such that really isn't good when it comes to allowing users to share configuration details. This is part of Zeus that could definitely be better :(
I added a couple more to the .BAT ones but when I get to .CSS files it'll be interesting to see what's all in there.

But the news is not all bad. Zeus does have an option to import TextPad Syntax Files so you can always uses the word files that have been created by TextPad users :D

You can download the syntax files from here: http://www.textpad.com/add-ons/syna2g.html

In the keywords pannel just click the import option and select the *.syn file filter option in the open dialog.
Hmmm, am I only *NOW* cluing in to the fact that you can select lines with Alt-L mouse click, and then select more with Shift-Alt-Lmouse click? That's been working since forever, hasn't it?

Forever ;)

Cheers Jussi

AlanStewart
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Update

Post by AlanStewart » Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:32 am

It's tough finding a way to make configuration work well for the computer *AND* be human manageable as well. What you've done is pretty good. At least it's easy enough to keep configurations from upgrade to upgrade.

Those TextPad Syntax Files look like they could do the trick! The CSS one looks pretty complete. Nifty!

Hmm, this is odd. The only colour schemes that are showing up are not the full list.
...
OH! I get it! There's no vertical scroll bar for the list! Okay, that's not so bad. I wonder if it's another weird MS/XP thing?

AlanStewart
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Upgrade

Post by AlanStewart » Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:31 am

Java conversion seems okay. I think I'm liking the new SmartIndenting. There seems to be fewer problems now than I was having before. So far the only difference is that the behaviour is a little different when hitting ENTER after a brace inside a function (it just drops down a line and lines up with the brace) vs the brace right after the function header (it drops down *AND* indents) but I think I can live with that. It's certainly better than the macro I tried playing with a while ago.

Is there any export for the macro key mappings? Although I guess that's not such a big deal since I didn't really have all that many.

The thing with this upgrade is that I won't know what I'm missing until I go to use it and it's not there. And of course, right now, I'm not doing anything so it could be a while before I notice anything. Which is good. It gives me time to do the upgrade!

Ah. Here's something odd. I've got the Line Cursor Wrap set to column 80 but in 3.95z the green line is right after the 80th column but in 3.96n it's *before* the 80th column. Did something change there somehow? Probably not a big deal, but it's good to know where what is.

Bloody 'eck! How did I manage to assign "R" to Enter????

Hmm, okay, the Line Wrap Cursor *does* seem to be wrapping one character earlier than usual. Well, no mind. I usually work with Line Wrap off anyways.

Alright. Time to head home. I'll look at it some more tomorrow. Boy, it sure feels good finally getting this done!

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2449
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:49 am

I think I'm liking the new SmartIndenting. There seems to be fewer problems now than I was having before.

It still has one or two glitches but I generally like the way it works ;)
Is there any export for the macro key mappings?

There is in the latest version of Zeus but not in the earlier versions.
Ah. Here's something odd. I've got the Line Cursor Wrap set to column 80 but in 3.95z the green line is right after the 80th column but in 3.96n it's *before* the 80th column. Did something change there somehow?
There was a change to the line wrap indictor code when the Left Margin Indicator was added (ie there are now two column indicators) so I guess this change would have introduced this slight difference in behaviour :?

Cheers Jussi

AlanStewart
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Post by AlanStewart » Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:18 pm

Okay, now the General tab of the Editor Options isn't sticking so I can't easily compare my settings. That is an odd one. Okay, I cheated. I took a screen-snap of the two different Editor Options/General tabs. That does the trick!

There. I *thought* I wasn't getting the right characters showing up because the OEM settings weren't on. That's much better!

I'm sure the SmartIndenting glitches will work their way through eventually. Right now I think it's pretty good. I'll go back over my old postings and see if there's anything from then still hanging around.

I got my macros pretty much taken care of so I'm not gonna worry about the exporting. Still, it's good to know that it's in there now. I'm sure other people are even more macro crazier than I am! :)

Oh? There's now a Left Margin thingy? Is that the thing with the line numbers and bookmarks and folding?

AlanStewart
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Update HTML

Post by AlanStewart » Wed Feb 20, 2008 9:05 pm

What's the usage for the "Keywords take precedence over delimiters" checkbox in the Keywords properties dialog box? It's checked for HTML but only if I uncheck it do my keywords get highlighted, which seems the opposite of how I would think it would work. Which means I'm probably thinking backwards or something.

I moved CSS file type from XML to HTML since (at least right now) I tend to load CSS files more with HTML files than XML. Although, thinking on it, if I want CSS keywords highlighted, I think I need to create a brand new CSS file type. Can I have the same extension in multiple file types? I'm thinking of this just for what files are filtered. If I'm loading up HTML files I often want to find .CSS and .JS files as well. Hmmm, that's not gonna work, is it?

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2449
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:58 pm

I'm sure the SmartIndenting glitches will work their way through eventually.

It can always be improved, so if you find an issue with it, just post a small code snippet and a short description of what you thing it does wrong and what you think it should do ;)
Oh? There's now a Left Margin thingy? Is that the thing with the line numbers and bookmarks and folding?

No. This margin was added for languages like COBOL. In COBOL everything before column 7 is ignored so this margin helps to highlight this point.
What's the usage for the "Keywords take precedence over delimiters" checkbox in the Keywords properties dialog box?
That is a bit of a hack for languages like XML and HTML. This check box is attached to the pattern and it says even if the pattern matches paint the pattern using any keyword color information found. The opposite is if the pattern matches just paint it with the pattern color.
It's checked for HTML but only if I uncheck it do my keywords get highlighted
It could well be a bug. Because HTML coloring is so different to normal language coloring and HTML was added very late to Zeus, it does not always color it as well as it should :(
Which means I'm probably thinking backwards or something.


Here is an example. Consider this pattern: <*> and these keywords: this, test

And consider this code: <this is a test case>

With the option off: the whole string is painted the pattern color

With the option on: this and test are painted in their keyword colors and the reset is painted in the pattern color
Can I have the same extension in multiple file types?

Not really. Zeus will search all the document types based on the file extension and will only ever use the first one it finds.

Cheers Jussi

AlanStewart
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Update

Post by AlanStewart » Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:55 am

I'll have a look at the SmartIndenting and let you know.

Ah. COBOL. It's been a while since I had to read COBOL. And I hope I never have to work with it again!

Yeah, I've noticed that the HTML colouring is awkward at best. It's a tough one. Just now I'm noticing that if I do something like <h1><h2><h3>george then h1/h2 are coloured but h3 isn't unless you put a space after it. But if you put in <h4> then they all colour properly again. I couldn't find any reason why that would be. Is there any cause to try and make the XHTML constructs like <br /> and <hr /> colour properly? Should /> be added to the mix?

Hmm, I see how that works now. Well, I'm kinda avoiding patterns for now. I find they can be very confusing.

Interesting. If I uncheck the box then all the <tags> get coloured. If I check the box, then all the attributes= get coloured. But not ever both at the same time. Hmmm.

Yeah, I figured the first one was the one used. That's the way I woulda done it. Okay. CSS gets it's own type. I'll get to that in a bit.

Sometimes when I run macros on marked text, the text is no longer maked when the macro is done but the display still shows the marked area. How do I tell things to do a refresh to unmark the seemingly marked area? I'm expecting that there's a macro command for that?

I think your string pattern matching is working better. At least with escaped "s it seems to be. Which is nice.

AlanStewart
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:52 pm

Update

Post by AlanStewart » Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:35 am

I *finally* implemented your PrintLine() from a while back:
http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic ... sc&start=0

Works like a charm!

I think most of the bugs on that old issue are now all resolved. I'm not doing any heavy coding at the moment, and what I am doing is all in HTML/CSS so we'll see what else shows up.

Too many meetings today. Tomorrow I think I'll do LUA files. This is actually good for me as I'm now taking the time to review a lot of my old macros (from 2001!) and clean them up a bit. The QuickKeys I did today for HTML works nicely now. I like LUA for simple scripting.

Post Reply
kuchnie warszawa opinie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AddidayRic, Google [Bot] and 21 guests