up arrow key inserts lines

If reporting a bug with the Zeus IDE please post the details here. Please do not post questions here.
Post Reply
omer kircher
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:37 am

up arrow key inserts lines

Post by omer kircher » Fri Jul 11, 2008 6:00 pm

recently, zeus sometimes gets into a state in which pressing the up arrow key seems to overlay a line. once it gets into this state it continues to do it. i don't know how to stop it.

if i terminate zeus and re-edit the same file, it continues to do it, however it apparently isn't recognized as a change because if i terminate again, i don't get the "do you want to save the changes" dialog box.

i don't know if this is a bug, or if i am accidentally doing something to cause this.

the active keymap is BriefEx.

it is very confusing.

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2446
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:04 am

Hi Omer,
recently, zeus sometimes gets into a state in which pressing the up arrow key seems to overlay a line. once it gets into this state it continues to do it. i don't know how to stop it.

I think I now know the bug you are referring to.

The Zeus windows are all highly optimised for painting to reduce flicker so for example, this means if you scroll any window by one line, most of the window is painted with a single bitblt with only the one new line getting redrawn.

This works fine nearly all the time, but on rare occasions when the document is just less or just over one page in length, the painting can get confused (i.e something goes wrong when the scroller and cursor hit the bottom of the page and they somehow get out of wack).

When it goes out of wack, using the keyboard to move the cursor up and down the document shows the painting to be out by one line (i.e. most of the screen painting is out by one line, but as the cursor is moved and the current line gets repainted, it is painted correctly, while the sorounding line are still out by one).

I have seen this bug a dozen or so times, but it is very hard to replicate because it depends on things like the file size, the scroller page length and position, the current font size, the window size etc etc.

The good news is I am hoping it will be fixed in the next patch :)

Cheers Jussi

JackR
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 8:50 pm

Post by JackR » Wed Jul 16, 2008 2:49 pm

Hello,

My workaround for this bug is to maximize the window, then restore it.

Jack

Post Reply
kuchnie warszawa opinie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests