Move Powerbuilder repository

Get help with the installation and running of the Agent Git or Agent SVN plug-ins. This section can also be used for posting comments, suggestions or submitting feature requests. Please do not post bug reports here. When in doubt post your question here.
Post Reply
jeff
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 1:47 pm

Move Powerbuilder repository

Post by jeff »

Hello Jussij,

still online ;-)

I'd be glad if you'd share your comment on this: Still have to use Powerbuilder 12.5.2, and get connected to SVN through AgentSVN. Now we have to finally move our release 1.6 repository to a SVN server release 1.9 on another host. Might it be possible just to move the repository via svndump, make our related DNS name point to the new server - and simply continue to work with our working copies? I know the WC's have a more recent format - could I just update them e.g. by TortoiseSVN - will PB and AgentSVN be ok with that?

Thank you very much!
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2464
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: Move Powerbuilder repository

Post by jussij »

Agent SVN uses the SVN client (svn.exe) itself to connect with the Subversion repository.

So this means all you need to do is insure that the version of svn.exe found in the system PATH can connect to your new repository.

How you create that new repository is up to you.

Now, in the Agent SVN configuration dialog there is a check box to use the built-in svn client and all this option does is put the svn client that was installed along with Agent SVN first in the PATH.

Basically it puts this folder first first in the PATH:

Code: Select all

c:\Program Files (x86)\AgentSVN\Subversion
So if that client works then you are good to go.

However if you start to see subversion errors then it might mean the client is too old and that means you will need to uncheck that option and supply your own SVN client via the system PATH.

Finally if the SVN repository URL changes what I would do is:

1. Setup the new URL in the Agent SVN configuration dialog.

2. Open the PowerPuilder project and in the workspace setting just rebind the project to the new URL.

The Agent SVN help file (i.e.Help button) has a section that describes rebinding and how the AUX Path is a combination of the root subversion URL and a project folder in the repository.

I would suggest reading those two help topics.

Cheers Jussi
jeff
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 1:47 pm

Re: Move Powerbuilder repository

Post by jeff »

Dear Jussi,

I'll need time to consider and give it a try. For now I don't want to miss to say "thank you very much"!
Post Reply