Having trouble changing the compile command

Get help with the installation and running of the Zeus IDE. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here. When in doubt post your question here.
Post Reply
Dataflex
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2023 9:46 am

Having trouble changing the compile command

Post by Dataflex »

I have a workspace for Ruby and a hello_world.rb file. I want to execute it with Compiler->Compile. But I am unable to change the Compiler->Options->Command from the default of "compile $fn". I change "compile" to "ruby" and press the Apply and OK buttons but when I go to compile it is still set to "compile $fn". This repeats.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: Having trouble changing the compile command

Post by jussij »

To understand what is going on consider a workspace containing the one hello_world.rb file as shown below:
ruby_work.png
ruby_work.png (129.18 KiB) Viewed 21776 times
The workspace compiler details defines a compiler command line as shown below:
ruby_work_comp.png
ruby_work_comp.png (120.21 KiB) Viewed 21776 times
The Ruby document type also defines a compiler command line as shown below:
ruby_comp.png
ruby_comp.png (117.19 KiB) Viewed 21776 times
With this arrangement there are two compilers defined for that hello_world.rb file, one found in the workspace and one in the document type.

When the file is compiled the workspace compiler details are used and this is indicated by the compiler output shown below:
ruby_output1.png
ruby_output1.png (43.93 KiB) Viewed 21774 times
Now if no workspace was open, there would be only one compiler defined for the hello_world.rb file, the one found in the document type.

In this case when the file is compiled those document type compiler details are used as shown below:
ruby_output2.png
ruby_output2.png (34.73 KiB) Viewed 21774 times
In summary, this is the behaviour:
  1. When there are multiple choices for the compiler, the workspace compiler options take a higher precedence.
  2. Details of the chosen compiler are displayed in the compiler output.
  3. To stop the workspace compiler from being used just remove those compiler details from the workspace and the document type details will then be used.
  4. If the file being compiled is not in the workspace, then the document type details will be use.
Cheers Jussi
Dataflex
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2023 9:46 am

Re: Having trouble changing the compile command

Post by Dataflex »

Thanks for the reply. I have a few issues.

First Issue: I installed Zeusedit on a new machine with Windows 11. I looked to see if the license allowed more than one machine and I found a forum post saying it did, but that was back in 2004.

Second Issue: When I was installing it I was given a default installation directory path that was under my user directory rather than c:\Program Files . I wasn't familiar with installing software in my user space so I chose to install it in c:\Program Files (may uninstall and go with default). It warned me about administrator rights for the Microsoft runtime but I ran it as administrator and it appeared to go OK. However, when I started the program for the first time I got an error dialog. I believe it was saying it couldn't read something but unfortunately I did not take a screen print or write it down. I exited and restarted to see it and it has not appeared since that first execution.

Third Issue: Document types. I have none. The directory zConfig has files, but there are no document types displayed in Options->Document Types.
DocumentTypesDialog.png
DocumentTypesDialog.png (49.16 KiB) Viewed 21762 times
zConfig.png
zConfig.png (66.77 KiB) Viewed 21762 times
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: Having trouble changing the compile command

Post by jussij »

I looked to see if the license allowed more than one machine and I found a forum post saying it did, but that was back in 2004.
That still applies, you only need one license per user.
It warned me about administrator rights for the Microsoft runtime but I ran it as administrator and it appeared to go OK.
This definitely will cause issues as that folder is protected by Microsoft, hence the reason you need admin rights to install the software at that location.

So when you run the installer with admin rights the installer gets elevated permission to run that install.

However, after installation, when you run Zeus it has normal user rights and that means Zeus does not have write access to that folder.
However, when I started the program for the first time I got an error dialog.
That would have been because of the write protection on that folder.
The directory zConfig has files, but there are no document types displayed in Options->Document Types.
Those files where put there by the installer, but they are not really in the correct location because that folder is write protected.

This is what I think is happening.

Because Zeus knows it can't access the zConfig folder found in the Program Files location it looks for a place where is does have write access.

You can find that location of that folder by running this using the Tools, DOS Command Line menu and running this command:

Code: Select all

Arguments: dir
Directory: $zud
This should show a folder location like this:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\<UserId>\AppData\Local\Programs\Zeus (x64)
But of course, that folder location is not available to the installer (it belongs to a different user, not the admin user), so the installer can't put these files into that folder location.

What you can do is move that zConfig folder to that location. :idea:

I would also use the Macros, Load menu to see if the zScript folder is also located in that writable user folder. I suspect it is, in which case just move the zScript files there as well. :idea:

Cheers jussi
Post Reply