doskey.exe application error in a batch file

Get help with the installation and running of the Zeus IDE. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here. When in doubt post your question here.
Post Reply
johnsea
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:26 pm
Location: San Diego

doskey.exe application error in a batch file

Post by johnsea »

I do not know if this is a configuration problem or a bug.

I setup my project using project option to run a .bat file that does stuff to compile my project. This .bat file has been used for years on NT, 2000, and XP with no problems.

Everytime I build the project I get this doskey.exe - Application Error dialog box to pop-up. When I click the OK button, another doskey.exe -Application Error dialog box pops up.

The .bat file completes and project completed with no errors. This batch file does call another batch file that does call doskey. Why am I getting this error when I use Zeus for Windows but when I use my current editor Codewright, It works just find? Is this a bug?

I download the latest trial version to check this editor out. I used to use Codewright V7.5 but this editor sometimes hangs-up. Expecially if SoftICE is loaded.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

Everytime I build the project I get this doskey.exe - Application Error dialog box to pop-up.
Can you post the contents of thsi batch file to the end of this thread.
but this editor sometimes hangs-up. Expecially if SoftICE is loaded.
The Zeus software protection is provided by the AsProtect product. AsProtect has special anti-debugging detection built in and I suspect it is this might be causing the hang :(

Cheers Jussi
johnsea
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:26 pm
Location: San Diego

Post by johnsea »

Thanks for the reply.
After analyzing the batch file, I realized that the doskey command was not needed.

This batch file was obtained from the Microsoft DDK and was used to setup the environment. I used it to setup the environment and compile my driver. Doskey.exe was not needed.
amix
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 1:26 pm

Post by amix »

I have the same problem.

I have a CMD_Startup.BAT for each CMD.exe invocation where the doskey.exe is being used:

Code: Select all

@doskey d=dir $*
@doskey n=notepad $*
@doskey home=cd /d "%USERPROFILE%"
@doskey ..=cd ..\..
@doskey ...=cd ..\..\..
@doskey dot=dopusrt /cmd GO PATH="$*"
@doskey don=dopusrt /cmd GO NEW PATH="$*"
Each of these doskey instances crashes, but the tool, as configured in Zeus, gets executed. When I use the CMD console manually this problem does not appear.
Also of interest may be, that, if I open just a DOS shell (the one preconfigured in Zeus, named xDOS), this problem does not occur either.
Post Reply