Editing file through Filezilla gives unreadable content

Get help with the installation and running of the Zeus IDE. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here. When in doubt post your question here.
vtxyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:58 am

Editing file through Filezilla gives unreadable content

Post by vtxyzzy »

When I set Zeus as the custom editor in Filezilla, and click 'View/Edit' on a remote file, it opens in Zeus with black background and unreadable red text.

If I copy the file to my PC with Filezilla, and then open it in Zeus, it opens normally.

Any clues why?
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

Any clues why?
I have never Filezilla but I am assuming it is a tool that downloads a remote file and then starts a tool to view the file and in this case you have configured it to run Zeus to view the file.

So Filezilla will have called Zeus passing the name of the file to be loaded via the command line.

The name of that file will be shown in the Zeus title bar.

You could also copy the name of that file to the clipboard using the Macros, Copy file name to clipboard menu.

So I would copy the file name to clipboard and then try opening the file using another editor like Notepad.

I suspect you will see the same result, which would then mean the configuration of the Filezilla command line that is starting Zeus is not correct.

What happens if you configure Filezilla to open the file in Notepad.exe :?:

If that works, what command line do you use to make that configuration :?:

Cheers Jussi
vtxyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:58 am

Post by vtxyzzy »

Filezilla is an ftp program.

I have tried editing the same file with these programs (command line in parentheses):

emacs (C:\sys\emacs\wemacs64\emacs-bin-w64-20140710\emacs\bin\runemacs.exe)

notepad++ ("C:\Program Files (x86)\Notepad++\notepad++.exe")

wordpad ("C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows NT\Accessories\wordpad.exe")

notepad (C:\Windows\System32\notepad.exe)

Zeus ("C:\Program Files (x86)\Zeus-3.97j\zeus.exe")

All functioned normally except Zeus, both when run directly from Filezilla and when opening the temporary file downloaded by Filezilla.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

But what is the full command line :?:

This command line doesn't contain any file information (other than the exe file):

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Zeus-3.97j\zeus.exe"
What is the full command line you enter into the Filezilla program into the editor configuration section of that program :?:

Also what is the corresponding full command line that you enter into Filezilla for something like Notepad++ :?:

It can't be just this:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Zeus-3.97j\zeus.exe"
Otherwise how is Zeus meant to know what file to load :?:

Also as asked before what is the file name shown in the Zeus title :?:

If you want to get to the bottom of this configuration issue please make sure you give answers to all the question not just some of them.

Cheers Jussi
vtxyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:58 am

Post by vtxyzzy »

I did give you the complete command line from Filezilla for every test case. That is all there is - no more!

The path from the Zeus title bar is this:

c:/Users/Mac/AppData/Local/Temp/fz3temp-1/header.php
vtxyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:58 am

Post by vtxyzzy »

And, just to be clear, if I open that file from every other editor, it opens correctly.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

I did a quick Google search and based on this link: http://trac.filezilla-project.org/ticket/8338

All I can suggest is trying this as the Zeus command line:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Zeus-3.97j\zeus.exe" -s
But if that does not work then I'm lost for ideas :(

Cheers Jussi
vtxyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:58 am

Post by vtxyzzy »

Jussi, I don't believe that you will be able to solve this problem. I know how difficult it is to debug a problem when you cannot reproduce it yourself.

I thought that I could email you a copy of the file so you could see the problem. However, I emailed myself a copy, saved it to my PC, and it opens fine. So, I can't even get you a copy of the file that will show the problem.

I was hoping that the symptoms would be familiar to you or someone on the forums, but if not, I guess I'll have to work around it somehow.

Thanks anyway.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

I know how difficult it is to debug a problem when you cannot reproduce it yourself.
And since I don't actually have Filezilla installed, short of downloading, installing and finally setting up Filezilla I have next to no chance of replicating that bug :(

But this is my guess as to what Filezilla is doing.

You told me this is the name of the file in the title:

Code: Select all

c:/Users/Mac/AppData/Local/Temp/fz3temp-1/header.php
That indicates to me that Filezilla has created a temp file and then it use the Zeus command line you configured to try and start Zeus passing it that temp file.

So this indicates to me it would run this command:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Zeus-3.97j\zeus.exe" c:/Users/Mac/AppData/Local/Temp/fz3temp-1/header.php
Now if Zeus is currently running that command line is not going to work.

If Zeus is not running that command line should work.

Now if you are saying that is Zeus is not running and when you click on a file in Filezilla it opens this file in Zeus and it displays as rubbish:

Code: Select all

c:/Users/Mac/AppData/Local/Temp/fz3temp-1/header.php
then as I mentioned earlier this is also easy enough to check.

Just replicate the issue and leave Zeus running and with the file displaying as rubbish, use the macro menu to copy the full file name into the clipboard.

Then with Zeus still running open that exact same file (using the clipboard) in any other editor like notepad. You could even open it in a second copy of Zeus using this command line:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Zeus-3.97j\zeus.exe" -s c:/Users/Mac/AppData/Local/Temp/fz3temp-1/header.php
I find it difficult to believe that this test will show Zeus displaying the file as rubbish where as Notepad will be display the text just fine.

My guess is they will be both displaying the same rubbish file.

But as I said above, I can't run these tests as I don't have the software installed, so I rely 100% on you feedback.

Cheers Jussi
vtxyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:58 am

Post by vtxyzzy »

I have already done exactly as you suggested:
  • * Sent the file from Filezilla to Zeus where it displayed incorrectly.
    * While the file was still open in Zeus, opened the file in another editor.
It opens fine in the other editors while still displaying incorrectly in Zeus.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

With this file open and displaying wrong in Zeus:

Code: Select all

c:/Users/Mac/AppData/Local/Temp/fz3temp-1/header.php
Do a File Save As and save it to this file:

Code: Select all

c:/Users/Mac/AppData/Local/Temp/header.php
Now if you close Zeus and then start Zeus again and open this file:

Code: Select all

c:/Users/Mac/AppData/Local/Temp/header.php
The file should still be displaying as wrong.

Is that the case :?:

Cheers Jussi
vtxyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:58 am

Post by vtxyzzy »

That did not happen. When I open the saved file, it opens normally.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

That did not happen. When I open the saved file, it opens normally.
There is definitely some very weird going on :?

Can you send me a picture of the broken file and a picture of the save as file :?:

My e-mail is in the bottom left corner.

Cheers Jussi
vtxyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:58 am

Post by vtxyzzy »

It seems to have something to do with the command sent by Filezilla. If I just close Zeus, start again and edit the same file, it appears correctly.

Is there any way I can see the exact command sent to Zeus?
vtxyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:58 am

Post by vtxyzzy »

Some good news. I have found a way around the problem.

Before, I had configured Filezilla to 'Use custom editor' and entered the command line I showed earlier.

If I configure to "Use system's default editor", I get the correct results (I have Zeus set as the default).

I would say this problem is resolved.

Thanks, Jussi, for your attention to this weird problem and for a wonderful editor.
Post Reply