PHP high function lighting

Get help with the installation and running of the Zeus IDE. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here. When in doubt post your question here.
Post Reply
waitman
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:18 am

PHP high function lighting

Post by waitman »

hi,
i'm new to zeus, evaluating. i like it so far, especially since i can turn
off the auto indent, brackets, completion, etc and stuff that drives me
bonkers.

BUT, i need function highlighting. basically i type fast and mispell every
so often and it's so blatantly obvious when it's not the color it's
supposed to be. example: mysqlnum_rows vs
mysql_num_rows
is this possible in zeus? the help file doesn't seem to function properly
in vista.
thanks,
Waitman
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

Hi Waitman,
i like it so far, especially since i can turn off the auto indent, brackets, completion, etc and stuff that drives me bonkers.

The Zeus philosophy has always been that where ever possible, let the users have the final say as to how things should work.

This does make the process of configuring the software a bit more complex, but it's better than having the IDE getting in way of the user.
BUT, i need function highlighting. basically i type fast and misspell every so often and it's so blatantly obvious when it's not the color it's supposed to be. is this possible in zeus?
Provided you have a list of valid function names then yes this is possible ;)

What you need to do is this:
  1. Use the Options, Document Types menu
  2. Select and edit the PHP document type from the list of document types
  3. Go to the Keywords section
  4. Click the Export button and export the keyword details to the c:\temp\my_php.zki temp file.
  5. Hit the Cancel button to cancel out of the configuration dialog
Now open the newly create c:\temp\my_php.zki temp file.

In this file you will find the following keyword sections (use the Find menu to locate these sections):

Code: Select all

[ReservedWords]
[UserWords1]
[UserWords2]
[UserWords3]
[UserWords4]
[UserWords5]
Each section can be allocated a different color.

So all that needs to be done is to pick a section and add the list of function names to that section, for example:

Code: Select all

[UserWords5]
mysql_num_rows
mysql_num_columns
mysql_some_function
mysql_some_other_function
To complete the configuration just re-edit the PHP document type as described earlier but this time use the Import button to re-import the c:\temp\my_document.zki temp file.

Now when you open your PHP file the words added above will be colored using the color defined for that section.
the help file doesn't seem to function properly in vista.
This link might help with this issue: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2683

Cheers Jussi
waitman
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:18 am

Post by waitman »

oh, ok. that was pretty darn simple.
with php, i see there are already a few in there.. but i wanted more! ;-)

just pull the words right off the php site.

Code: Select all

<?php
$f=explode("\n",strip_tags(implode(file('quickref.php'))));
foreach ($f as $v) {
    $v=trim($v);
    if (($v!='')&&(is_callable($v))) echo $v."\n";
}
?>
thanks for your help.
it seems like a pretty darn good editor, only a few minor quirks. i use a text editor every day so any little thing is amplifed, lol. i don't much like how the "file types" changes to whatever file I'm looking at (well maybe whatever file type i just "saved"), i have to keep switching it back to *.*, which can be tedious on mounted remote storage, and when i copy the selection area becomes unselected.


waitman
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

only a few minor quirks.
Feel free to report these quirks to this forum.
i don't much like how the "file types" changes to whatever file I'm looking at (well maybe whatever file type i just "saved")
The way it works is the file filter will be automatically selected based on the file extension of the currently active document.

FYI you can also add/remove file types from this filter list using the Display these files in the file open dialog files list found in the General section of the Document Type ;)
i have to keep switching it back to *.* which can be tedious on mounted remote storage
Typing in *.* followed by the enter key should also work. But I'll look to add an editor option to turn on/off this behaviour ;)
and when i copy the selection area becomes unselected.
This simple Lua macro will copy the marked area to clipboard and also keep the marked area selected ;)

Code: Select all

function key_macro()
    screen_update_disable()
    -- macro only works for documents
    local document = is_document()

    if document == 1 then
        -- macro only works for marked documents
        local marked = is_marked()

        if marked == 1 then
            cursor_save()
            MarkCopy()
            cursor_restore()
        else
            message("No area has been marked!")
            beep()
        end
    else
      message("This macro only works for document files!")
      beep()
    end
end

key_macro() -- run the macro
To use this macro just save the code above to a file in the zScript folder with the Lua file extension.

Then you can use the Options, Editor Optons menu Keyboard Mapping panel to bind the macro to the keyboard (using the Category dropdown list).

Cheers Jussi

PS: Since you code in PHP this link might be of some use: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9
waitman
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:18 am

Post by waitman »

ok cool, thanks again!

i like the idea of turning the filter list off! really i think it should only change if i specifically want it to change, i start feeling weird when my files have suddenly vanished and it takes me a moment to recover from disorientation and remember that the filter selection changed! but really, the slowness of refresh on remote storage makes it ugggh.

a couple more, i don't see 'close all' and ctrl-shift-s 'save as' makes wierd track thingings at the caret pos but doesn't save-as.

thanks for the link to the php help thingy, i appreciate it. every once in a while i'm trying to remember if it's haystack or needle parameter first, and sometimes i gotta pull up the php.net site and look it up. maybe i'll use that chm instead, i'll think about it awhile.
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

i don't see 'close all'

There is a Windows, Close All menu. Is that what you mean :?:
ctrl-shift-s 'save as' makes wierd track thingings at the caret pos but doesn't save-as.

Which keyboard mapping are you using :?:
every once in a while i'm trying to remember if it's haystack or needle parameter first, and sometimes i gotta pull up the php.net site and look it up. maybe i'll use that chm instead
This is where the Zeus Quick Help feature might help: http://www.zeusedit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6

What this feature does is index the CHM help file.

This lets you place the cursor on a word or partial word and use the Help, Quick Help Current Word menu to search the help file index for the word.

If anything is found then the CHM file gets display at the correct page.

The feature doesn't work for all CHM files as it depends on the index information in the help file itself, but when it does I find it to be very useful ;)

Cheers Jussi
waitman
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:18 am

Post by waitman »

There is a Windows, Close All menu. Is that what you mean
OH! it's under "Window". i was looking under "File". Now i know where it is.!

Which keyboard mapping are you using
hmmmm ok i see that option there now, it was very easy to assign. sorry i'm new to zeus. ;-)

thanks again for your help!
waitman
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:18 am

listview

Post by waitman »

hi again,

is there a listview avail somewhere for the files list? i guess the 'mod' way is the treeview, but i think it's more convenient to have a listview and drive combox, i'm not sure how to sort by size, name, modified date, etc.

thanks
waitman
jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij »

is there a listview avail somewhere for the files list?
Unfortunately not :(

The best there is, is the Tools, Explorer menu which will take you to the correct Explorer folder location based on the currently active document.

Cheers Jussi
Post Reply