Page 1 of 1

While I execute my Document I want to See it !!!!!

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:08 am
by Ed Grossheim
10:54 PM 6/25/2007

Ok

When I "Execute the Current Document as a Script", i.e. Run my Script from the editing window, ......I want my *.vbs program to run with my program visible in the background.

I would like to (while my program is executing, and a pop up window is waiting for a response) be able to scroll up or down my program to see the code at the current point of execution.

Instead I am on the "Macro Complete" tab, :cry: and I cannot activate the *.vbs program tab to see my program!!!! :?: :cry: :cry:

With MSE7, which I have used for years, I can do this. I am trying to verify that Zeus can be an improvement over MSE7, to make my commitment to the IDE.

Thanks again in advance. :wink:
--- Ed

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:49 am
by jussij
Hi Ed,
When I "Execute the Current Document as a Script", i.e. Run my Script from the editing window, ......I want my *.vbs program to run with my program visible in the background.

This can be done by running the script via a Zeus tool. For example using the Options, Default Document Type in the Tools section add this tool:
  1. Tick DOS Command option
  2. Set arguments as "$fn"
  3. Apply the changes
Now if you add this code to a new document and save the document to disk:

Code: Select all

Sub key_macro()
    MsgBox "Hello World!"
End Sub

key_macro() 'run the macro
You can execute this code by opeing the document and running the tool (ie it runs the active document via the command processor).

You could also achieve a similar result using the Compiler feature of the Default Document Type.
I would like to (while my program is executing, and a pop up window is waiting for a response) be able to scroll up or down my program to see the code at the current point of execution.

The VbScript (just like the other Lua, Python, JavaScript, TCL script options) are just there to help automation Zeus.

To debug VbScript you would need use a proper debugger to, and then define a Zeus tool to run that external debugger.

There should be a debug tool on the Microsoft site: http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... e.10).aspx

Cheers Jussi

Ok I am working on understanding this

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:11 pm
by Ed Grossheim
6/26/2007 8:39:29 AM

Is there any get-around for running the default document if the File/Path name has spaces?

:cry:

--- Ed

I guess

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:45 pm
by Ed Grossheim
6/26/2007 9:34:23 AM

Got it ! :P

By leaving the quotes off "$fn", I wasn't putting the filename in quotes at the command line.

All I had to do was follow your directions!!!!!

Thanks Jussi

don't worry I'll be back with more ????? :lol: :twisted: