Status Bar fields blink on Win7 x64.

If reporting a bug with the Zeus IDE please post the details here. Please do not post questions here.
Post Reply
jbrandwood
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 1:27 pm

Status Bar fields blink on Win7 x64.

Post by jbrandwood » Sun Jun 01, 2014 6:47 pm

I'm running Zeus 3.97s on Win7 x64 on 3 different machines with 3 different graphics cards, and on all of them the Status Bar's "MOD"
and "clock" fields briefly blink 2 or 3 times a second as they're redrawn.

The other fields "ASCII", "INS", "Ln:99 Col:47" are completely solid and do not blink.

This doesn't happen with the same version of Zeus on WinXP x86.

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2428
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:03 pm

I'm running Zeus 3.97s on Win7 x64 on 3 different machines with 3 different graphics cards, and on all of them the Status Bar's "MOD"
and "clock" fields briefly blink 2 or 3 times a second as they're redrawn.

Unfortunately I'm not seeing this on a Win7 x64 machine :(

My two thoughts are:

(1) It might be related to the screen resolution settings and/or the DPI settings. What screen resolution are you running and are you setup for small, medium or large text :?:

(2) The MOD value is checked by a background timer tick set for about 3 times a second. But the MOD should only change if the actually file status changes (I will double check that in the code).

So what might actually be happening is as far as Zeus is concerned the status is changing. I could imagine this might happen if the file is on a network and Zeus is having issues querying that network.
This doesn't happen with the same version of Zeus on WinXP x86.
That hints it is most probably issue (1) :?

Cheers Jussi

jbrandwood
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 1:27 pm

Post by jbrandwood » Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:36 am

That makes sense, but AFAIK, I'm running with Win7's default settings.

I've just looked around and my "Custom DPI" setting is at 100% and "Use Windows XP style DPI scaling".

My Control Panel -> Display -> "Make it easier to read what's on your screen" is set to "Smaller - 100% (default)".

I'm running an Nvidia graphics card with a 1920x1080 DVI monitor.

Oh ... I'm running the "Windows Classic" theme if that makes a difference.

I'm completely up to date with all regular and all optional updates (except for NO Bing!).

And "no", I'm afraid that the file is local. If no files are open, then the clock on the Status Bar still blinks.

I know that remote debugging something that you can't replicate is almost impossible, but is there somewhere else that you can suggest that I look?

jussij
Site Admin
Posts: 2428
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:10 pm

Post by jussij » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:00 am

Oh ... I'm running the "Windows Classic" theme if that makes a difference.

Turns out this is the secret sauce ;)

With any of the Aero themes I can note see any flicker, but turning on "Windows Classic" introduces the flicker.

I'll see if I can find out the cause.

Cheers Jussi

Post Reply
kuchnie warszawa opinie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests